Triste Notícia

Maestro do primeiro Concerto  da OSP em 1993 no Teatro Tivoli

Lukas Foss, Composer at Home in Many Stylistic Currents, Dies at 86

Published: February 1, 2009

Lukas Foss, a prolific and versatile composer who was also a respected pianist and conductor, died at his home in Manhattan on Sunday. He was 86, and also had a home in Bridgehampton, N.Y. His wife, Cornelia, announced his death.

Associated Press

Lukas Foss rehearsing with baton in 1944; Leonard Bernstein, who was then assistant conductor of the New York Philharmonic, is at the piano.

James Estrin/The New York Times

Mr. Foss at home in 1997.

Although he was a German émigré, Mr. Foss was, from the start of his composing career, considered an important voice in the burgeoning world of American composition, along with Aaron CoplandSamuel BarberElliott Carter andLeonard Bernstein. And like Bernstein, he enthusiastically championed the works of his colleagues. But where Bernstein, in his compositions, melded jazz and theater music with a lush symphonic neo-Romanticism — or wrote theater music outright — Mr. Foss preferred to explore the byways of the avant-garde, focusing at different times on techniques from serialism and electronic music to Minimalism and improvisation. But as he moved from style to style, his voice remained distinctive, partly because he distrusted rules and never fully adhered to those of the approaches he adopted, and partly because a current of mercurial wit ran through his work.

He took particular pleasure in finding common ground between opposing languages and techniques. His String Quartet No. 3 (1975), for example, is essentially a Minimalist work, but it has a mildly atonal edge and uses dynamics more dramatically than other Minimalist works of the time.

Sometimes Mr. Foss would combine contemporary styles with those of the distant musical past. His “Baroque Variations” (1967) is a partly improvisatory, partly mischievous deconstruction of works by Handel, Scarlatti and Bach. In his “Salomon Rossi Suite” (1975) and “Renaissance Concerto” for flute and orchestra (1985), fragments of 16th-century works are refracted entertainingly through a modernist lens.

Artigo completo aqui

Lucas Foss - Biografia 

"A música é celeste, de natureza divina e de tal beleza que encanta a alma e a eleva acima da sua condição."

  ©Template by Dicas Blogger.